Paignton
Neighbourhood Forum

Paignton Masterplan

The Seafront

Torbay Council intends to build a seawall along the entire length of Preston and Paignton seafronts. Consultation and outreach to the community has been minimal.

This is too important a matter, impacting tourists and locals alike, for the next fifty-plus years.

We want to see proper consultation AND engagement that covers climate change, sea defences, and flooding.

As of 14 May 2021 Torbay Council has 'paused' its planning application in order to do some consultation.

Timeline of Events

  • Paignton and Preston Coastal Defence Scheme

    Thursday 29 October 2020

  • Seawall Design Consultation

    Saturday 20 March 2021

  • Let’s Make Paignton’s Prom Great Again!

    Saturday 17 April 2021

  • Report from The Wall

    Wednesday 28 April 2021

  • Councillor David Thomas

    Monday 3 May 2021

  • Councillors Chris and Barbara Lewis

    Monday 3 May 2021

  • Angry Paignton campaigners determined to stop flood wall from ruining promenade

    Wednesday 5 May 2021

  • Campaigners determined to prevent new 'Berlin Wall' built on sea front

    Wednesday 12 May 2021

  • Sea defence scheme paused for more community engagement to take place

    Friday 14 May 2021

  • Flood defence scheme on hold

    Wednesday 19 May 2021

  • Residents demand to be heard over new flood defences

    Wednesday 2 June 2021

  • Notes of meeting with Environment Agency

    Friday 2 July 2021

SHARE